Lasers & Optical Fibers Technologies
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages


Nobel Prize laureates for physics 2018

Congratulations to G. Mourou, D. Strickland & A. Ashkin

Gérard Mourou (France), Arthur Ashkin (USA) and Donna Strickland (Canada), scientists, won the 2018 Nobel Prize for Physics for breakthroughs in the field of lasers used for surgery as well as scientific study.

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2018, was awarded with one half to Arthur Ashkin, “for the optical tweezers and their application to biological systems”, and the other half jointly to Gérard Mourou and Donna Strickland “for their method of generating high-intensity, ultra-short optical pulses”.


Read more:


Photo 1: ©Reuters, Gérard Mourou in his laboratory at the Ecole Polytechnique in Palaiseau, France
Photo 2: ©Johan Jarnestad, The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences



CPA chirped pulse amplification



All products